We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Las Cruces "the nice price"

by Buckley

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Las Cruces "the nice price" via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 213 Rum Bar Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 80%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Orale, Have You Met Me Yet?, Shoot For The Stars, Leather Catsuit, Driving South, Brad Marino Slabs o' Wax Blowout (Rum Bar catalogue) "the nice price", Hello, Hooligans In The Vestibule, and 205 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      $254 USD or more (80% OFF)


Bakersfield 05:38
Old Glory 02:56
Devil Slide 05:03
Las Cruces 06:08
Conseula 03:34
Three Chiefs 04:27
Downtown 05:22
Clawson Hill 03:46


“Crazy Horse by way of Parsons and Sahm.” - Laurie Gallardo, KUTX

"Raw, passionate ... at his best Buckley reminds you of everything from the Jayhawks’ ‘Bunkhouse’ period, to the Rolling Stones."
- Steve Morse, Rock Critic

"It’s country rock with an ache, one that doesn’t fade, yet never proves debilitating." - Austin Chronicle

Born a Northerner with a Texas soul, and slinging a guitar with a snarl under his Cowboy hat, Singer-songwriter Buckley is standing front and center with his latest release ‘Las Cruces’. It’s a fitting title for a man at continual crossroads.

Inspired by the boundless sky hanging over the desert on his nighttime drives during a recent tour in the southwest, his sonic brush is a bit heavier and the mood a little darker this go-around.

After fronting the critically acclaimed alt-country band the Gilded Splinters, Buckley moved from Boston to Austin in 2011. Ranging from rough to raw to rueful, Buckley’s sound caught ears and landed him residencies at the White Horse, Blackheart, Hotel Vegas, and Hole in the Wall, gigs at Nashville’s famed Bluebird Cafe, and airplay from KUT to the UK.

Recorded at Shine Studios in Austin TX, ‘Las Cruces’ is an album surrounded by a wall of lush guitars, finger poppin’ harmonies, steel pedal twang, a bit of alt-country, soul, and roots rock n’ roll.

Reverb and feedback fill the air off stacks of amplifiers, boot stomping anthems, and longing dreamy melodies. Finding its footing knee deep in Neil Young, Whiskeytown, and The Flying Burrito Brothers, ‘Las Cruces’ is an album at the crossroads of one’s soul. Hitting the ground running with radio driven, alt-country tunes like “Bakersfield”, “Conseula”, “Clawson Hill”, “Perfect Storm”, and lead single “Three Chiefs”, Buckley has found his home.

With 6 years in Austin behind him, and a little of that black-star twilight in his pocket, Buckley is making his way West, East, and all points in between.


released March 2, 2018

'Las Cruces' an album by Buckley
All songs written by J. Buckley

J. Buckley - Guitar & Vocals
Simon Page - Guitar
Sean McNulty - Bass
Russ Patterson - Drums
Recorded @ Shine Studios - Austin, TX.
Produced by J. Buckley & Justin Douglas
Engineered, Mixed and Mastered by Justin Douglas


all rights reserved



Rum Bar Records Boston, Massachusetts

"Write this down: Rum Bar Records is turning into one of the absolute best labels for real rock & roll these days."
-- the legendary Bill Kelly, Bill Kelly's Blackhole Bandstand SiriusXm ch21 LSUG

contact / help

Contact Rum Bar Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Las Cruces "the nice price", you may also like: