Some Freaks Of Atavism

by Screeching Weasel

  • Some Freaks Of Atavism CD
    Compact Disc (CD)

    Sold Out


"14 over-the-top POP songs!!!! It's a delight!" - Voix de Garage Grenoble

"The latest album from Ben Weasel and co. is a masterclass in pure and unadulterated punk-pop and their best album in some time. Some Freaks Of Atavism is a welcome return from a band and songwriter that are hitting incredible form once again." Nathan Whittle, Louder Than War

"The band has a long history. They are like the Ramones, if you like them, then you like everything they do. The album Some Freaks of Atavism is a pleasure to listen to all the way through, which is what I did many times. It’s well done pop punk. The songs are even better when you become familiar with them over repeated listens." - Boston Groupie News

"I tell ya, that's about the last band I thought I would see on Rum Bar Records. It's a good record!" - Tommy Unit Live, Real Punk Radio

Helmed by acid-penned frontman Ben Weasel, Some Freaks of Atavism is inspired pop punk for a strange new decade. Smart, incisive, rocking (and of course) danceable as hell, the 14-tracks produced and engineered by Mike Kennerty came at the right time for many fans stuck at home during the rise of Covid-19. After canceling upcoming tour dates amid worldwide safety concerns, Weasel pushed the album's release forward with gusto.

With revitalized swagger and knock-out guest vocal appearances by New Wave icon Josie Cotton and MxPx's Mike Herrera, the album provided more than fist-pumping hooks. For fans of the band, it scratched a massive itch that hadn't been tended to since 2011's punchy, powerful First World Manifesto.

Passionately performed by Screeching Weasel's impressive current live lineup, Some Freaks of Atavism is both a pillar of punk triumph and a gut-punch to the monster the band so lovingly created. Really, would we expect anything less from these Midwest miscreants?

Sure, the coming year is more uncertain than ever. But pop punk fans can be comforted by one unwavering promise: virtuoso Weasel will sleep when he's dead.


released February 4, 2022

CD release available on Rum Bar Records. Vinyl LP editions available on Striped Music and Recess Records. Digital album worldwide release and all digital, bandcamp, audio streaming platforms & formats available on Monona Records:

Some Freaks Of Atavism:
1. She Ain't Your Baby
2. Back of Your Head
3. God Help Us
4. To Hell With You
5. Settle In
6. Not Even Close
7. Losing My Mind
8. Never Been In Love
9. Turn It Around
10. Crying Shame
11. Brain In A Jar
12. Dead By Dawn
13. Problematic
14. Bleed Through Me

Ben Weasel: vocals
Trevor Jackson: guitar, backing vocals
Mike Hunchback: guitar
Zach Brandner: bass, backing vocals
Pierre Marche: drums

Guest vocals on Turn It Around: Josie Cotton
Guest vocals on Losing My Mind: Mike Herrera

All songs written by Ben Weasel
Produced, engineered, and mixed by Mike Kennerty
Back of Your Head, Settle In, and She Ain't Your Baby produced by Trevor Jackson
Mastered by Justin Perkins @ Mystery Room Mastering
Art and Layout: Riccardo Bucchioni



Rum Bar Records Boston, Massachusetts

"Write this down: Rum Bar Records is turning into one of the absolute best labels for real rock & roll these days."
-- the legendary Bill Kelly, Bill Kelly's Blackhole Bandstand SiriusXm ch21 LSUG

contact / help

Contact Rum Bar Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Some Freaks Of Atavism, you may also like: